The Centre builds upon the vivid exchange of inter- and transdisciplinary research and teaching projects established over the past ten years at the English Department/University of Cologne with colleagues from Germany and Australia. In 2009 Prof. Dany Adone and Prof. Beate Neumeier established the Dr. R. Marika Chair of Australian Studies with the financial support of the DAAD and the University, which was held by internationally renowned Australian scholars in literary and cultural studies (Prof. Bill Ashcroft, Prof. Kay Schaffer, Prof. Sue Kossew, Prof. Paul Arthur) and linguistics (Prof. Brian Devlin, Prof. Rob Amery, Prof. Patrick McConvell, Prof. Harold Koch). The establishment of this Chair provided the opportunity for the development of a broad network with Australian universities and enabled fruitful collaborations of faculty and students.


  • Prof. Rob Amery (University of Adelaide, Adelaide)
  • Dr. Brett Baker (University of Melbourne, Melbourne)
  • Prof. Michael Christie (Charles Darwin University, Darwin)
  • Prof. Len Collard (University of Western Australia, Perth)
  • Glenn James (NAILSMA, Darwin)
  • Dr. Anne Lowell (Charles Darwin University, Darwin)
  • Rarriwuy Marika (Yirrkala)
  • Dr. Doug Marmion (AIATSIS, Australian National University, Canberra)
  • Dr. E. L. Maypilama (Charles Darwin University, Darwin)
  • Dr. Knut Olawsky (Mirima Dawang Woorlab-gerring Language and Culture Centre, Kununurra)
  • Prof. Jaky Troy (University of Sydney, Sydney)
  • Prof. Michael Walsh (Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies, Canberra)
  • Prof. Ghil’ad Zuckermann (University of Adelaide, Adelaide)

Literature and Cultural Studies

  • Prof. Paul Arthur (Edith Cowan University, Perth)
  • Prof. Bill Ashcroft (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
  • Prof. Anne Brewster (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
  • Prof. Anna Haebich (Curtin University, Perth)
  • Campbell Jefferys
  • Prof. Sue Kossew (Monash University, Melbourne)
  • Prof. Jacqueline Lo (Australian National University, Canberra)
  • Prof. Philip Mead (University of Western Australia, Perth)
  • Dr. Mitchell Rolls (University of Tasmania, Hobart)
  • Prof. Kay Schaffer (University of Adelaide, Adelaide)
  • Prof. Kim Scott (Curtin University, Perth)
  • Prof. Helen Tiffin (University of Tasmania, Launceston/Hobart)
  • Dr. Jamal Barnes (Edith Cowan University, Perth)


  • Prof. Franziska Bergmann (Trier University, Trier)
  • Dr. Robert Clarke (University of Tasmania, Launceston/Hobart)
  • Prof. Dr. Andrea Geier (Trier University, Trier)
  • Prof. Ursula Lehmkuhl (Trier University, Trier)
  • Prof. Hans-Jürgen Lüsebrink (Saarland University, Saarbrücken)
  • Prof. Laurence McFalls (University of Montréal, Montréal)
  • Dr. Elisa Müller-Adams (Trier University, Trier)
  • Prof. Philippa Mein Smith (University of Tasmania, Launceston/Hobart)
  • Prof. Noah Riseman (Australian Catholic University, Melbourne)

Interdisciplinary Collaborations


  • Prof. Robert Freestone (University of New South Wales, Sydney)
  • Dr. Paul Kristiansen (University of New England, Armidale)
  • Prof. Bill Pritchard (University of Cologne, Cologne; University of Sydney, Sydney)
  • Prof. Glen Searle (retired, formerly University of Queensland, Brisbane)